From Dirt We Come

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Continuing in the proud Texas aggro tradition established by Pantera, Houston's Dirt displays some of their own vulgar metal power on From Dirt We Come, the band's 2002 debut for 2-K Sounds. Produced by Coal Chamber's B. Dez Fafara, this release has a raw, slightly loose feel that uses spirit to make up for what it lacks in power. All the intensity necessary for above-average metal is present, but a lack of dynamic material limits the impact of From Dirt We Come. The detuned guitar/primal scream approach is practically identical on every song, and after only a few numbers, everything sounds the same. A good first effort from both Dirt and Fafara, this offering doesn't exactly change the shape of 21st century metal, but all involved deserve credit for this forceful recording.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:52
2 3:33
3 2:35
4 2:45
5 2:41
6 3:25
7 2:53
8 1:51
9 3:34
10 2:35
11 2:04
blue highlight denotes track pick