Various Artists

Freq. Beats

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Freq. Beats is a cash-in compilation from Astralwerks that relies heavily upon the label's own back catalog, including a lot of cuts that are not exactly up to date. The inclusions of Fluke's "Atom Bomb," Basement Jaxx's "Where's Your Head At," and Röyksopp's "Eple" make the first disc look like an Astralwerks primer, while another number of tracks come from parent company Virgin (Daft Punk's "Harder Better Faster Stronger," Gorillaz' "19-2000," a Jason Nevins remix of Stacie Orrico's "[There's Gotta Be] More to Life"). Despite its lopsided nature in presenting "22 of today's hottest dance tracks," Freq. Beats is a decent compilation of dance music -- stronger than most other attempts at doing something similar. Those looking at club music from the outside will find a good deal to enjoy here.

blue highlight denotes track pick