• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Freispiel Review

by Jason Anderson

A collection of Ravvivando remixes featuring the talents of Trillion, Sofa Surfers, Howie B., and the Residents, among others, this ambient/techno take on latter-day Krautrock is a splendid spin. The groovy "T-Électronique" gets the most attention as three different artists (Mathias Schaffhauser, Sofa Surfers, the Residents) deconstruct the track with wildly different yet equally interesting results. Other highlights include Dax & Pieper's raucous take on the gigantic grind of "Four Plus Seven Means Eleven." Throughout each of its 13 tracks, Freispiel's regurgitated metronome funk never stiffens. Like their inspiration, the artists collected make imaginative use of their material, blending in their own modern dialects with the Faustian-filtered art rock to fine effect. It's rare for a band closing in on its 30th anniversary to produce work as compelling as Ravvivando, and the legions of Faust followers surely took notice. This broad yet respectful remix collection is a testament not only to the group's historic influence, but also its creative vigor.

blue highlight denotes track pick