Francis M

Francis M: OPM Timeless Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In 1997, the Philippine record company OctoArts/EMI released Francis M: OPM Timeless Collection, a collection of songs recorded by Philippine male rapper Francis M (born Francis Magalona) for the label on three albums released between 1990 and 1993. Known for his patriotism, he uses the album opener "Mga Kababayan" (My Fellow Countrymen) as an entreat Filipinos to be proud of their country and to refrain from doing anything that harms it. His rapping is often tempered by a soulful sound, as heard in the sung chorus to "My Only One." He incorporates a snappy horn section into "Tayo'y Mga Pinoy" (We Are Filipinos) and "Bahay Yugyugan" (Jam House). Another highlight is the hard-edged, guitar-driven "I Don't Like Being in the Dark," a song about the nationwide electricity shortages that plagued the Philippines in the early '90s.

blue highlight denotes track pick