John Wall


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is the second CD in the series by this British electro-acoustic and sound collage composer. John Wall works on computer, assembling detailed fragments of samples taken from a vast collection of contemporary music ranging from Stockhausen and Luigi Nono through to free improvisation and heavy metal. Many of these samples are processed beyond recognition, and, additionally, the composer has some free improvisors come into the studio to generate material for him to plunder and warp into all sorts of strange and unusual arrangements. Like the cut up methods of John Zorn with Naked City but with more of an organic flow to the pieces. This stunning electro-acoustic music approaches the sampling and plunderphonics movement from a different angle, one that is more astute and detailed than say Negativeland or John Oswald. Hence, his sense of arrangement is closer to that of his inpiration Maurucio Kagel.The later composer's work is given fine treatment by John Wall, woven into his post-modernist works, they are not so much collages as autonomous compositions in their own right. Like the artist Kurt Schwitters, his assemblages of off cut fragments come to life as an entirely new mode of construction.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 20:16
2 18:23
3 9:18
4 14:48
blue highlight denotes track pick