The John Kirkpatrick Band

Force of Habit

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Fans of traditional British dance music will get a huge kick out of this album. John Kirkpatrick is one of England's finest button accordion and concertina players, and the band that he leads on this collection of live tracks is also first-rate: it includes drummer Michael Gregory, guitarist Graeme Taylor (of the Albion Band), fiddler/recorder player Paul Burgess, and bassist Dave Berry. What's both surprising and impressive about this album, apart from the lively and virtuosic playing, is how many of these very traditional-sounding numbers are actually Kirkpatrick originals; "Pepper in the Brandy" and the 7/8 romp "The Seven Coloured Linnet," which open the program as a medley, are both his own, as are the songs "George's Son" (which Kirkpatrick sings capably if not beautifully) and the blues-based (!) "Blue Balloon." The traditional numbers are well chosen, too, and include an affecting rendition of "The Oakham Poachers" and the gently rollicking "Princess Royal." Highly recommended to fans of Fairport Convention, the Oyster Band, and the Albion Band.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:28 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:20 SpotifyAmazon
3 4:38 SpotifyAmazon
4 6:10 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:43 Amazon
6 5:08 SpotifyAmazon
7 5:32 SpotifyAmazon
8 5:20 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:29 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
11 5:20 SpotifyAmazon
12 7:26 SpotifyAmazon
13 2:48 SpotifyAmazon
14 3:56 SpotifyAmazon
15 4:10 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick