Various Artists

For the Love of Harry: Everybody Sings Nilsson

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Tribute albums are difficult things to pull off at the best of times, so it's no surprise that not quite everything works on this 23-track set. Part of the problem is that Harry Nilsson wrote some amazing songs in his time -- but he also wrote some that were not quite so amazing. Another part of the problem is that some of these songs don't lend themselves easily to interpretation -- thus we have Fred Schneider destroying "Coconut" with a loud, crunchy treatment, and LaVern Baker turning "Jump into the Fire" into a wimpy R&B outing. On the other hand, "Spaceman" is even more interestingly quirky in the hands of the Roches and Mark Johnson, Aimee Mann brings out the sweet side of "One," Adrian Belew does a fine "Me and My Arrow," and Steve Forbert turns in a supremely cute take on "The Moonbeam Song." Overall a nice project (with money going to the Coalition to Stop Gun Violence), though it does not replace the original Nilsson performances by a long chalk.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:22 SpotifyAmazon
2 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
03:01 SpotifyAmazon
4 05:06 SpotifyAmazon
03:58 SpotifyAmazon
6 03:25 SpotifyAmazon
7 04:28 SpotifyAmazon
8 03:36 SpotifyAmazon
9 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
10 01:53 SpotifyAmazon
11 02:55 SpotifyAmazon
12 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
13 03:20 SpotifyAmazon
14 03:31 SpotifyAmazon
15 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
16 02:42 SpotifyAmazon
17 02:25 SpotifyAmazon
18 02:06 SpotifyAmazon
19 03:12 SpotifyAmazon
20 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
21 03:41 SpotifyAmazon
22 03:56 SpotifyAmazon
23 04:02 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick