The Four Seasons

Folk-Nanny/Born to Wander

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This set combines two Four Seasons' LPs, 1963's Folk Nanny and 1964's Born to Wander, on a single disc, and since both original releases featured a relatively muted and more acoustic sound than the typical Four Seasons' album, they fit together pretty well. Don't expect the Four Seasons doing folk songs, though, no matter how many acoustic guitars are featured on the cover. Aside from versions of Pete Seeger's "Where Have All the Flowers Gone" and Phil Ochs' "New Town" and a faux folk ballad called "Connie-O" written by the group's writing and production team of Bob Crewe and Bob Gaudio, the tracks here sound like fairly typical Four Seasons' fare, if maybe just a little bit more acoustic in tone. The big hit "Silence Is Golden" is here, as well as an intriguing Crewe/Gaudio composition called "No Surfin' Today" which amounts to an open imitation of the Beach Boys. All in all, these two albums make a pleasant combined listen, but aside from maybe "Silence Is Golden," nothing included here is anything close to an essential Four Seasons' cut, making this set a purchase for die-hard fans only.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:27 Amazon
2 02:35 Amazon
02:23 Amazon
4 03:09 Amazon
5 02:29 Amazon
6 01:57 Amazon
7 03:08 Amazon
8 02:19 Amazon
9 02:20 Amazon
02:47 Amazon
11 02:49 Amazon
02:21 Amazon
02:42 Amazon
14 02:05 Amazon
15 03:58 Amazon
16 02:53 Amazon
17 02:30 Amazon
18 03:23 Amazon
19 03:01 Amazon
20 03:12 Amazon
21 02:20 Amazon
22 03:14 Amazon
23 02:37 Amazon
24 02:45 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick