Lynn Anderson

Flower of Love

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Flower of Love is one of two albums in Pickwick's budget line of Lynn Anderson reissues (It Makes You Happy is the other), both of which are drawn from Anderson's early Chart recordings. The focus here is on Anderson's covers of others' hits -- none of her own hits are included. There is nothing as playful and adventurous as her recordings of "I've Been Everywhere" and "The Auctioneer" (both on Anthology, Vol. 2: The Chart Years); Joe South's "Games People Play" and Merle Haggard's "Okie From Muskogee" are as close as this album comes. Anderson's versions of "Stand By Your Man," Dottie West's "Paper Mansions," and Connie Smith's "Once a Day" are too close to the originals to excite, but "Lie a Little" and "A Penny for Your Thoughts" are Liz Anderson originals from Lynn Anderson's 1967 album Promises, Promises. Because these songs are duplicated on earlier albums, Flower of Love is of limited value.

blue highlight denotes track pick