Ken Ishii


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Another LP of enchanting, slightly chilled techno, Flatspin channels the melodic spirits of Derrick May and Yellow Magic Orchestra. Beginning with the single "Iceblink," Ken Ishii throws the distinctly Asian sound of YMO-styled synth pop over driving techno, with plenty of changes to keep at-home listeners happy as well. "Grab It Attack It" and "Gap Accelerator" are future-shocked electro-techno with a parade of great ideas, akin to fellow techno veteran Luke Slater's experiments with electro on 1999's Wireless. As on Sleeping Madness, Ishii still sounds a bit restless, toying with tribal-techno (on "Drums in Friction") and downtempo ("Mirage"), and also working in a couple of experimental vignettes (the trio of "Flatspinning Loop" interludes). He's still an excellent producer, to be counted on to deliver at least one anthem per album (here, it's definitely "Iceblink") plus an assortment of intriguing genre exercises. An added bonus is a mix of "Iceblink" with help from Detroit's finest, Kevin Saunderson's Inner City.

blue highlight denotes track pick