Sebastian Whittaker

First Outing

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first of three Justice releases led by drummer Sebastian Whittaker has eight originals by band members plus John Coltrane's "Impressions" but is very much in the style of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers. None of the Texas-based musicians in Whittaker's septet (John Gordon and Shelly Carrol on tenors, trumpeter Dennis Dotson, trombonist James Lakey, pianist Stefan Karlsson, bassist David Craig and the drummer-leader) have become all that famous yet but they play quite well throughout this swinging modern mainstream set.

blue highlight denotes track pick