Jim Cullum, Jr.

Fireworks! Red Hot & Blues

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Riverwalk, Live from the Landing has since its debut in 1988 been one of the finest of all jazz radio series. Featuring cornetist Jim Cullum's excellent septet with a variety of guests, each show is well-scripted, educational and entertaining, generally based around a specific theme. This particular set is an excellent sampler of the series. The Jim Cullum Jazz band (featuring trombonist Mike Pittsley, either Brian Oglivie or Allan Vache on clarinet and pianist John Sheridan) has three numbers to themselves (including a brilliant version of "Fireworks") and is joined by such notable guests as pianist Dick Hyman, bassist Bob Haggart, singer Vernel Bagneris (heard on "Dr. Jazz"), tap dancer Savion Glover (who follows an excerpt from a 1932 recording of Bill Bojangles Robinson on "Doin' the New Lowdown"), cornetist Leon Oakley, Linda Hopkins (who sings "St. Louis Blues") and the great Clark Terry (on "It Don't Mean a Thing" and "Mumbles"). In addition, Hyman and Sheridan engage in a heated piano duet on "Grandpa's Spells," Lionel Hampton jams "7 Come 11," clarinetist Ken Peplowski romps through "Ring Dem Bells" and Joe Williams signs a tender version of Eubie Blake's "A Dollar for a Dime" in a duet with pianist Sheridan. All 15 selections are quite enjoyable, the radio audience is rightfully enthusiastic and this CD has more than its share of highpoints. Highly recommended to classic jazz fans.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:45
2 3:19
3 4:51
4 3:07
5 2:13
6 3:06
7 2:56
8 4:37
9 3:19
10 3:58
11 2:18
12 3:15
13 2:55
14 4:05
15 8:03
blue highlight denotes track pick