Original Soundtrack

Finding Forrester

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The original soundtrack to Finding Forrester, Gus Van Sant's other uplifting mentor/student drama, features a compelling mix of '60s and '70s works from Miles Davis and Ornette Coleman and an original score by Bill Frisell. Davis' "Recollection" and "Little Church" provide two of the album's more reflective moments, while his "Black Satin" and Coleman's "Happy House" offer a funky, intense contrast. Frisell's dreamy but slightly off-kilter pieces, such as "Under a Golden Sky," "Picture Book," and "Over the Rainbow," act almost as a palate cleanser between Davis' and Coleman's intense works. With its deft mix of vintage and contemporary jazz, Finding Forrester gives the film it accompanies another level of integrity.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 18:51 Amazon
2 3:15 Amazon
3 5:15 Amazon
4 2:06
5 9:45 Amazon
6 2:30
7 5:21
8 5:07
9 5:34
10 4:25
11 1:19
12 3:24
13 5:05
blue highlight denotes track pick