Elliot Goldenthal

Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Elliot Goldenthal outdid himself with the epic score for this box-office bomb. A soaring, triumphant work brilliantly brought to life by the London Symphony Orchestra, Goldenthal's score surely would have received Oscar consideration if the film itself had performed better. Opening with an almost Wagner-ian tone, Goldenthal weaves a complex tapestry of sound, utilizing some good old-fashioned chorus and brass fireworks along with more transcendent string passages. Many moments are (as Goldenthal acknowledges in the liner notes) similar in style and texture to his work on Alien 3: modernist, dark, and percussion-heavy. But tracks like "Adagio and Transfiguration" simply bristle with bold orchestral writing, descending to a quiet, contemplative finish. Even the song written from Goldenthal's main theme, "The Dream Within," comes off as one of the more successful attempts to duplicate the titanic success of other end title songs. This disc is a must for Goldenthal, fans but will also reward those classical listeners who appreciate the textures of Gorecki.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within, film score
1 2:05 Amazon
2 1:21 Amazon
3 1:43 Amazon
4 2:05 Amazon
5 4:15 Amazon
6 0:54 Amazon
7 8:30 Amazon
8 2:19 Amazon
9 1:35 Amazon
10 3:24 Amazon
11 5:57 Amazon
12 2:26 Amazon
13 0:51 Amazon
14 1:51 Amazon
3:29 Amazon
16 5:24 Amazon
The Dream Within (Love Theme from Final Fantasy)
feat: Lara Fabian
4:44 Amazon
Spirit Dreams Inside (from Final Fantasy)
18 3:44
blue highlight denotes track pick