Big Daddy Weave

Fields of Grace

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In September 2003, Big Daddy Weave released their sophomore project, Fields of Grace. While their name may invoke visions of a ska group, the band is far from it. Instead, Big Daddy Weave -- made up of members Mike Weaver, Jay Weaver, Jeremy Redmon, Joe Shirk, and Jeff Jones -- offers listeners a style similar to that of Steven Curtis Chapman and the Dave Matthews Band. Produced by Mike Weaver and Jeremy Redmon, Fields of Grace clearly represents the collaboration of bandmembers who have learned how to play off each other. The musicianship is superb, including supportive organ and Rhodes licks, tight drum fills, confident guitars and bass, unselfconscious synth parts, and the occasional violin and sax. Vocally, lead singer Mike Weaver is in the company of Chapman, Bob Carlisle, and Bebo Norman. His strong voice serves each song well, drawing attention to the lyrical content rather than himself. Lyrically, the album follows consistent themes, such as freedom, grace, and mercy. The instrumentation and arrangement of each song is different, orchestrated appropriate to the meaning of the song. Tracks include "New Every Morning," "Heart Cries Holy," and "Be Your Everything." Fields of Grace is a well-recorded and well-produced album. It is evidence that Big Daddy Weave isn't the "typical" pop group. Instead, they are a band of five men who are striving to master their craft in a way that brings glory to God.

blue highlight denotes track pick