Robyn Hitchcock / Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

After the stripped-back collection I Often Dream of Trains, Robyn Hitchcock slowly formed a backing band called the Egyptians with ex-Soft Boys Andy Metcalfe and Morris Windsor, and keyboardist Roger Jackson over the course of the next year. Fegmania!, the Egyptians' first album, was a distinct departure from both the Soft Boys and Hitchcock's previous solo work, featuring layered, intertwining guitars and keyboards that created lush and thick sonic textures. Even with the more detailed arrangements, the songs remained twitchy and off-kilter, with melodies that usually went in willfully unpredictable directions, yet remained catchy all the while. Fegmania! was Hitchcock's most consistent work to date, featuring such highlights as the Eastern-tinged "Egyptian Cream," and the creepy "My Wife & My Dead Wife," and the relatively straightforward "The Man with the Lightbulb Head." [In 2008 Yep Roc released a new version of Fegmania that included the original album re-mastered, eight bonus cuts (three of which were previously unavailable) and expanded packaging.]

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:31 Amazon
2 02:44 Amazon
3 04:26 Amazon
4 04:16 Amazon
5 03:12 Amazon
6 03:03 Amazon
7 01:52 Amazon
8 02:48 Amazon
9 03:11 Amazon
10 03:48 Amazon
11 04:40 Amazon
12 03:29 Amazon
13 02:58
14 03:19 Amazon
15 04:34 Amazon
16 04:53 Amazon
17 01:40 Amazon
18 05:33 Amazon
19 09:57
blue highlight denotes track pick