Ty Dolla $ign

Featuring Ty Dolla $ign

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Featuring Ty Dolla $ign Review

by Andy Kellman

Between Beach House III and this, his third proper full-length, Ty Dolla $ign continued to collect hits as a supporting vocalist as he does the women and jewelry he flaunts in his songs, reaching some of his highest highs with Post Malone's "Psycho," Khalid's "OTW," and Megan Thee Stallion's "Hot Girl Summer." Clearly still far from settling into middle age by cutting raunchy soul-blues sides for Malaco like the second coming of Marvin Sease, he fine-tunes his methods on Featuring Ty Dolla $ign. This is without a combination of instantly memorable and everlasting jams like BHIII's "Droptop in the Rain" and "Don't Judge Me." It never opens up as much as that LP's "All the Time," and too often unloads overfamiliar lyrical themes mostly related to asset inventory. That said, Ty's wordplay can still crush that of most commercial rappers, his profane harmonies remain unrivaled, and he has album assembly down to a science. It's a testament to his vision and do-it-all ability that he can work with roughly 50 fellow producers and guest artists and line up the results for an hour-long set with tracks that flow forth like they're being decanted. Moreover, this is a strong reaffirmation of his eagerness to adapt to any set of collaborators. There's something special about each instance when he links with fellow Californians, such as the downcast if neatly unfurling "Track 6" (with Anderson .Paak and Thundercat) and the rolling "Real Life" (one of three tracks co-produced by onetime Ty pupil Mustard). In the second of these, Ty summarizes the harsh and surreal aspects of his existence with a chorus that only he could sing with such matter-of-fact grace. While the thought of a strictly West Coast-made Ty project is tantalizing, the artist's wanderlust is insatiable and usually rewarding, whether he unites with Nicki Minaj on "Expensive" or effectively forms a one-off quartet with secret weapon Tish Hyman, Musiq Soulchild, and 6LACK on "Your Turn," a soul-searching retreat from pleasure-seeking and rumbling 808s. Continuity is also maintained by a couple appearances from Ty's brother TC, who offers motivation in the intro and later provides an update on his incarceration (a life sentence for a crime he claims he did not commit).

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Ty Dolla $ign 00:25 Amazon
2 Ty Dolla $ign 01:45 Amazon
3 Ty Dolla $ign 02:33 Amazon
Ty Dolla $ign 00:55 Amazon
5 Ty Dolla $ign 02:24 Amazon
6 Ty Dolla $ign 02:40 Amazon
7 Ty Dolla $ign 02:41 Amazon
8 Ty Dolla $ign 02:35 Amazon
9 Ty Dolla $ign 02:16 Amazon
Ty Dolla $ign 00:46 Amazon
11 Ty Dolla $ign 02:38 Amazon
Ty Dolla $ign 00:33 Amazon
13 Ty Dolla $ign 02:45 Amazon
14 Ty Dolla $ign 02:39 Amazon
15 Ty Dolla $ign 02:28 Amazon
16 Ty Dolla $ign 03:40 Amazon
17 Ty Dolla $ign 03:31 Amazon
18 Ty Dolla $ign 02:48 Amazon
Ty Dolla $ign 01:09 Amazon
20 Ty Dolla $ign 02:29 Amazon
21 Ty Dolla $ign 03:00 Amazon
22 Ty Dolla $ign 03:33 Amazon
23 Ty Dolla $ign 05:19 Amazon
Ty Dolla $ign 00:26 Amazon
25 Ty Dolla $ign 03:51 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick