Clancy Eccles

Fatty Fatty: 1967-1970

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although viewed by some as more of an overseer than a hands-on producer, Clancy Eccles did feature a groove-heavy mix of stomping beats and vaporous organ accompaniment on the majority of his recordings (most likely a collaborative effort with his house band the Dynamites, later to become the Crystalites under producer Derrick Harriott). On Fatty Fatty, the group works through Eccles' eclectic mix of soulful vocal numbers, early DJ cuts, proto-dub, and plenty of the kind of early, up-tempo reggae the producer was instrumental in bringing forth. Eccles is at the mic for the rocksteady-into-reggae cuts "Bag a Boo" and "Fatty Fatty" (a U.K. hit upon its release), while Eric "Monty" Morris takes over on "My Lonely Days" and what became the Eccles' first hit, "Say What You're Saying." Other vocal highlights include Larry Marshall's "Please Stay," and Cynthia Richards' incredible "Foolish Fool," with fine instrumentals coming from the Dynamites and Drumbago. Rounding out the set are vocal harmony numbers by the Silvertones and Barrington Sadler's calypso-inspired "Rub It Down" and "Jamaican Countryside," as well as the blend of flute and bongos on "Soul Power." Topped off with excellent contributions from Dynamite members Winston Wright on organ and Ernest Ranglin on guitar, Fatty Fatty qualifies as one of best records of rocksteady and early reggae. Along with Heartbeat Records' excellent Clancy Eccles Presents His Reggae Revue, it also, unfortunately, is one of just a few collections of the producer's trailblazing work.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:39
2 3:06
3 2:38
feat: Monty Morris
5 2:06
6 3:23
7 2:56
8 2:47
9 2:27
feat: Joe Higgs
feat: Beltones
12 2:40
13 2:22
feat: Busty Brown
15 2:43
17 1:59
18 2:43
19 2:50
20 2:30
21 2:17
feat: Busty Brown
feat: Silverstars
24 2:32
25 2:25
26 1:54
blue highlight denotes track pick