Fats Domino

Fats Domino Jukebox: 20 Greatest Hits the Way You Originally Heard Them

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released in conjunction in 2002 with the four-disc box set Walking to New Orleans, as well as three other titles in EMI/Capitol's Crescent City Soul series, The Fats Domino Jukebox: 20 Greatest Hits the Way You Originally Heard Them becomes the definitive single-disc Fats collection on the market nearly by default -- it's remastered, it's the one in print, and it has a flawless selection of songs. It's not markedly better than, say, the '90s' definitive Fats compilation, My Blue Heaven, since it has essentially the same track selection and even if the tapes were restored to their originally running speed, the difference is not enough for most ears to notice, but it's still a great collection of some of the greatest music of its time, and it summarizes Domino's peaks excellently. So, if you don't already have a Fats Domino collection, this surely is the one to get (despite the really ugly art).

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:36 SpotifyAmazon
2 02:12 SpotifyAmazon
3 02:35 SpotifyAmazon
4 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
5 02:24 SpotifyAmazon
6 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
7 01:57 SpotifyAmazon
8 02:24 SpotifyAmazon
9 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
10 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
11 02:03 SpotifyAmazon
12 01:53 SpotifyAmazon
13 01:39 SpotifyAmazon
14 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
15 02:02 SpotifyAmazon
16 02:17 SpotifyAmazon
17 02:01 SpotifyAmazon
18 02:07 Amazon
19 02:18 SpotifyAmazon
20 02:23 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick