Chris Brown / Tyga

Fan of a Fan: The Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

After two collaborative mixtapes and a couple big tag-team singles, "Deuces" and "Loyal," that were close to unavoidable on commercial radio, a proper duo album from Chris Brown and Tyga was the next logical step. Despite two lead voices throughout, Fan of a Fan: The Album is similar to their preceding solo albums in that it is stuffed with guest appearances. Not one member of the all-male succession -- Ty Dolla $ign, 50 Cent, Pusha T, Fat Trel, Boosie Badazz, or Schoolboy Q -- is in top form, yet their contributions prop up the headliners. Neither one of the album's first two singles, "Ayo" and "B****es N Marijuana," is on the same level as their previous hits as a duo, while a lot of what surrounds those tracks is routine, functional but not among either artist's best. Unsurprisingly, much of the material is a reflection of the carefree (and early-'90s) look of the album's packaging, with playful braggart jabs like "She don't think that I can change, so I switched from a Benz to a Range" representative of the mentality. It's not all clowning around. There is some depth through a handful of slower, less rowdy cuts like "Westside," "Girl You Loud," and "Better," the last of which is a sweetly melodic, repentant ballad. Ultimately, this is likely to satisfy only the most devout sects of Brown's and Tyga's fan bases.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:34
2 4:05
4 3:33
5 4:13
6 4:02
7 3:44
8 3:42
9 4:46
10 4:59
11 4:14
12 3:47
blue highlight denotes track pick