Various Artists

Euphoria: A Decade of Trance Anthems

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Euphoria: A Decade of Trance Anthems is something of a follow-up to The Very Best of Euphoria (2003), a 53-track mix by Matt Darey and Adam White that chronicles the same turn of the century U.K. trance scene as this similarly fashioned 51-track mix. The subtitle of this compilation is a misnomer, however, as several of the most popular tracks on this mix predate the turn of the century, which means that Euphoria: A Decade of Trance Anthems often harks back to the mid- to late '90s rather than the 2000s. Take for instance Underworld's "Born Slippy" (1995), Robert Miles' "Children" (1995), Three Drives' "Greece 2000" (1997), and Nalin & Kane's "Beachball" (1997). While this point may be trivial to some listeners, it's typical of the inattention to detail that has plagued recent Ministry of Sound releases such as this. Also take, for instance, how the second and third discs are mixed up in the CD edition. Euphoria: A Decade of Trance Anthems is a thrown-together release, to be sure, but at least it does a respectable job of compiling a collection of genuine trance anthems. Several of them may fall outside of the designated time frame, most of them may be featured in remix versions rather than the originals, and the mixing may leave much to be desired for those who care about such things. Yet the collection includes a lot of turn of the century trance anthems by many of the style's biggest names, such as Faithless, Chicane, Paul van Dyk, Tiësto, Fragma, and Ian Van Dahl, as well as a multitude of full-on hands-in-the-air favorites, such as Darude's "Sandstorm," ATB's "9pm (Till I Come)," and Public Domain's "Operation Blade."

blue highlight denotes track pick