Tim Janis


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Etain is the second album by composer Tim Janis. Featuring vocalist/lyricist Kate Chadbourne, the album tells the magical legend of the land of Tir na nOg (the Land of Youth) and story of Etain (pronounced Ay-deen) and her true love Midir. The story brims with dark spells, lost lovers, detoured lovers, and lovers reunited through a game of chess. Janis' music is richly symphonic, yet spiced with solo fiddle, flute, guitar, and mandolin. The themes are Celtic -- reels, jigs, airs -- and Chadbourne's compelling voice (the lyrics are in Gaelic) is perfect for singing the tale: soft and airy, yet with depth and a driving edge when needed. It won't be long before this heroic album -- the melodies, the instrumentation, the voice, and the story -- works its way into your heart. Others in the Tim Janis Ensemble include Mary Kennedy (flute and piccolo), Bethe Hagens (fiddle), Lawrence Golan (fiddle), David Surrette (guitar and mandolin), and Scott Kennedy and Steve Dube (percussion).

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
2 01:57 SpotifyAmazon
3 01:03 SpotifyAmazon
4 02:19 SpotifyAmazon
5 02:09 SpotifyAmazon
6 02:37 SpotifyAmazon
7 01:04 SpotifyAmazon
8 02:37 SpotifyAmazon
9 02:01 SpotifyAmazon
10 01:57 SpotifyAmazon
11 01:06 SpotifyAmazon
12 01:55 SpotifyAmazon
13 01:42 SpotifyAmazon
14 01:46 SpotifyAmazon
15 01:51 SpotifyAmazon
16 02:11 SpotifyAmazon
17 02:51 SpotifyAmazon
18 01:51 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick