Various Artists

Epic AF [2016]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

When it was originally released by major-label Epic in June 2016, the streaming-only compilation Epic AF (the "AF" is most likely short for "as fuck") collected a dozen rap tracks previously released during late 2015 and the first half of 2016. There was one new selection in the original release: A G-Eazy-enhanced version of Rory Fresco's "LowKey," the original of which received over two-million SoundCloud streams after the platform's algorithm placed it after Kanye West's "Real Friends." Although this seems like a label experiment more than a standard compilation -- it was essentially a playlist with artwork, and the tracklist changed over it time -- it was, at first, heavy on tracks that had yet to appear on a proper album. Most of the original 12 inclusions had finished either floundering or flourishing commercially, while Kent Jones' "Don't Mind" and Future's "Wicked" were on the rise. DJ Khaled and Young Thug, along with later signees Divine Council and Lotto Savage, were among the other contributors featured on the original release.