Kool & the Gang

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Emergency Review

by Craig Lytle

This album marked the end of Kool & the Gang's 15-year association with De-Lite Records. Impressively, the group charted each of those 15 years, including ten number one singles. Emergency continued that tradition, and was responsible for two of those number one singles. The first release, "Misled," with its crackin' bassline, led the charge; it peaked at number three on the Billboard R&B charts. "Fresh," an invigorating dance single with melodic verses and accented chorus chants, followed and surpassed "Misled," claiming the top spot. Mostly known for their funk and dance songs, the nine-piece band hit on a more tranquil note with "Cherish." With its adult contemporary appeal, the tender-flowing single eased its way to the top of the charts. All three of the aforementioned singles were also Billboard pop Top Ten singles. The final chapter in the group's De-Lite Records catalog came with the release of the title track, "Emergency," a rock-flavored single that crested at number seven on the Billboard R&B charts.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Kool & the Gang 05:21 Amazon
2 Kool & the Gang 04:27 Amazon
3 Kool & the Gang 05:01 Amazon
4 Kool & the Gang 04:51 Amazon
5 Kool & the Gang 05:04 Amazon
6 Kool & the Gang 05:42 Amazon
7 Kool & the Gang 07:03 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick