Emerald Vulture

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first of three EPs to be released under a new deal with This Dark Reign Records, Emerald Vulture is also the first Sourvein recording to follow guitarist Liz Buckingham's defection to Dorset, England, doom titans Electric Wizard. Not that her absence makes itself particularly obvious here -- after all, Sourvein has always been predominantly the artistic reflection of vocalist T-Roy (former Buzzov-en), whose inability to raise the band to greater recognition can be largely blamed on bad-luck record label bankruptcies (and the occasional hurricane) than lack of vision. Emerald Vulture's first three tracks do nothing to dispel that notion, opening with an instantly memorable leaden grind named "Blessed," moving through the title track's feedback-swamped Cathedral power chords, and discreetly stealing a little something back from Electric Wizard for the rolling doom advance of "Witch Rides Out." Final cut "Heart of Ebon" is a bit of a cop-out, descending into static noise three minutes into its bulky 13, but by this point the message is clear: Sourvein are on the comeback trail -- beware!

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 6:16
2 3:20
3 5:05
4 13:13
blue highlight denotes track pick