Eko Fresh

EK to the Roots

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On his 2012 album EK to the Roots, German rapper Eko Fresh pulls out all the stops: it's a double album with a whopping 34 tracks, featuring guest appearances not only by the usual suspects (Xatar, Frauenarzt, Summer Cem, Farid Bang, Bushido), but also by American rappers such as Spice 1, Yukmouth, Fredro Starr, Young Noble, and Mr. Capone-E. A large portion of EK to the Roots was produced by Phat Crispy, who provides a soul-influenced, bass-heavy, old-school sound; the record also features instrumentals by Isy B and Joshimixu as well as additional production by Big Daddy Shane, Ear2ThaBeat, Maestro, ZH Beats, Reef, Serious Sam, and Monroe. EK to the Roots charted at number three in Germany, number four in Switzerland, and number ten in Austria.

blue highlight denotes track pick