Marvin Gaye

Early Classics

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An 18-song collection that Marvin Gaye's earliest fans will cherish. It's a nonstop cool-groove that reference from Gaye's first Tamla single "I'm Yours, You're Mine" (1/62) to "Little Darling (I Need You)" (7/66). Some choice A-, B-sides, and album cuts are missing from that four-and-a-half year span, but you can't please everybody. Plum obscurities include "Got to Get My Hands on Some Lovin'," from his first album (and later done by the Artistics); "She's Got to Be Real," the B-side of "Ain't That Peculiar"; and "Whenever I Lay My Hat." Six bonafide hits ("Ain't That Peculiar," "Little Darling," "How Sweet It Is," "You're a Wonderful One," "Stubborn Kinda Fellow," and "Can I Get a Witness") keep you locked in. Advanced technology makes every track and their intricacies ("you can hear not yet famous singers on backing vocals") sound better than remembered.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:58 Spotify
2 2:43 Spotify
3 2:47 Spotify
4 2:12 Spotify
5 2:51
6 2:34 Spotify
7 2:44 Spotify
8 2:44
9 1:57 Spotify
10 2:11 Spotify
11 3:01 Spotify
12 2:25 Spotify
13 2:53 Spotify
14 2:48 Spotify
15 2:40 Spotify
16 2:45 Spotify
17 2:43 Spotify
18 2:51 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick