Champion Jack Dupree / Tony McPhee / TS McPhee

Dupree 'N' McPhee: The 1967 Blue Horizon Session

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The session at which these 16 tracks were recorded (in 1967, though there's some speculation it might have been done earlier) was a most unusual one for Champion Jack Dupree, and to a lesser degree for T.S. McPhee. Although Dupree was a pianist, not only does he play no piano here -- there is no piano to be heard. Instead, the sole accompaniment is the acoustic guitar of T.S. McPhee, soon to become famous as the figurehead of the British blues-rock band the Groundhogs. It's an unusual combination, and not the best or most characteristic Dupree recording. That doesn't mean, however, that it isn't worthwhile, particularly for some of the more open-minded fans of traditional-styled acoustic blues. Dupree's vocals are characteristically warm and inviting on this set of pretty downhome, rootsy blues, all written by Dupree and McPhee themselves. McPhee's guitar work might be the most noteworthy aspect of this recording date, however, even if he didn't get lead billing. His playing is both proficient and moving, particularly when he unleashes the snakiest of his slide guitar lines, as he does on "Get Your Head Happy," "No Meat Blues," and the brisk "Got My Ticket" in particular. It's a low-key group of recordings, but a pleasantly earthy one. Two of them, "Get Your Head Happy" and "Easy Is the Way," came out on a limited-edition 1967 single, and another on a 1997 CD, but all of the others made their first appearance anywhere on this 2005 compilation.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:20
2 2:43
3 2:09
4 2:47
5 2:32
6 3:00
7 1:59
8 2:17
9 3:14
10 3:09
11 2:38
12 3:27
13 2:23
14 3:24
15 2:16
16 1:56
blue highlight denotes track pick