Drunken Lullabies

Flogging Molly

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Drunken Lullabies Review

by Tom Semioli

Flogging Molly boasts a feisty Irish heart and pub rock influences aplenty on Drunken Lullabies, an boisterous collection of hyper-energetic songs rendered in a rush of patriotic frenzy. Lead singer Dave King leads an raucous army of guitars, violins, whistles, and accordions through torrid tales of freedom, political struggle, love found, and love unrequited bolstered by a rhythm section steeped in a pure punk rock aesthetic. Engineered by Steve Albini, this album explodes with the exuberance of a live performance, leaving in the sour notes and call-and-response verses that are equally infectious and endearing. The title track kicks off the set in a breakneck speed that never lets up, decrying the ills of modern society whilst drowning sorrows, hopes, and fears in alcohol and camaraderie. "Death Valley Queen" is a dirge of Dylanesque proportions where King bemoans the rejection he suffers from a not-so-fair maiden with courage and deep sorrow. But misery, no matter how temporary, loves good company. And there's plenty to be found on Drunken Lullabies. After one listen, you'll probably wish you were Irish.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Flogging Molly 03:50 SpotifyAmazon
2 Flogging Molly 03:38 SpotifyAmazon
3 Flogging Molly 03:50 SpotifyAmazon
4 Flogging Molly 03:21 SpotifyAmazon
5 Flogging Molly 03:43 SpotifyAmazon
6 Flogging Molly 05:11 SpotifyAmazon
7 Flogging Molly 02:05 SpotifyAmazon
8 Flogging Molly 02:57 SpotifyAmazon
9 Flogging Molly 04:18 SpotifyAmazon
10 Flogging Molly 03:45 SpotifyAmazon
Flogging Molly 04:06
12 Flogging Molly 04:24 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick