Drivin' On: The ABC Years (1975-1982)

John Mayall

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Drivin' On: The ABC Years (1975-1982) Review

by Cub Koda

This two-disc, 32-track compilation brings together highlights from Mayall's output for ABC Records in the 1970s, pulling from the albums New Year, New Band, New Company; Notice to Appear; Lots of People; A Banquet of Blues; A Hard Core Package; and Last of the British Blues. These cherry-picked tracks do a nice job of highlighting Mayall's estimable writing skills as well. Highlights include "Seven Days Too Long," "Old Time Blues," "You Can't Put Me Down," "Sitting on the Outside," "My Train Time," and the title track. As a special bonus, there's the second-disc inclusion of four live tracks from a 1982 Bluesbreaker reunion gig, featuring John McVie back at his original post on bass and Mick Taylor on lead guitar providing the fireworks.

blue highlight denotes track pick