Various Artists

Dreams of Love

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

DREAMS OF LOVE, if perhaps not the "ultimate romantic piano album" of the billing, is nevertheless a very good compilation of music that could be classified under the broad label 'nocturne.' Each of the six pianists represented is showcased in music they are particularly famous for playing well: Vladimir Ashkenazy in Chopin and Beethoven, Jorge Bolet in Liszt, Radu Lupu in Schumann, Pascal Rogé in Debussy and Satie, Jean-Yves Thibaudet in Ravel, and Alicia de Larrocha in Grieg. One particularly nice bit of programming is that, with the exception of the two movements taken from Beethoven sonatas, virtually all of the music here is either an independent piece or is commonly excerpted. Listeners looking for the particular mood that this album embodies could not find this music better played all in one place.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:51 Amazon
2 5:33
3 4:55 Amazon
4 3:10
5 3:52 Amazon
6 6:11 Amazon
7 4:22
La fille aux cheveux de lin, prelude for piano, L. 117/8
8 2:28 Amazon
9 3:49
Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood) for piano, Op. 15
10 2:30
Nocturne, lyric piece for piano, Op. 54/4
11 4:07
12 4:02
13 5:18
14 2:59
15 5:01
16 3:28
Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 13
17 5:00
Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor ("Moonlight"), Op. 27/2
18 6:07
blue highlight denotes track pick