• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Following general practice at the time, this American EP actually lasts the length of a regular album with its varying mixes and otherwise unavailable songs, all from various English versions of the original single. In terms of whether it's all worth it, that's something else. The lead track itself makes for another dramatic Erasure high point, appearing in three separate versions here. Besides a 7" mix that slightly truncates the album take without doing much more to it, there's the lead-off "krucial" mix, a reasonable enough expansion of the original via the work of Bob Kraushaar. Meanwhile, the "act 2" mix, handled by Mark Saunders, gets an even sprightlier punch-up, probably resulting in the best mix of the bunch. As for the two new songs, the first is "Sweet, Sweet Baby," featuring a flat, vocoder vocal (possibly from Clarke!) along with various other odd little drop-ins over the beat. Two other separate mixes, the "medi-mix" and the "moo-moo mix," crop up, both taking the straight-ahead house beat of the original and running with it in slight variations. "Paradise" fills things out, in both a regular and a "lost and found" mix. It's a fun little number that's a definite Motown/Supremes homage in general sound and feeling, an enjoyable diversion with a great, slow dream of a chorus.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:40
2 5:12
3 4:09
blue highlight denotes track pick