George Wettling

Dr. Jazz, Vol. 15

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The 16 previously unreleased performances on this CD were taken from the Dr. Jazz radio series that was on the air during 1951-1952. The music is straightforward, no-nonsense Dixieland, usually featuring cornetist Jimmy McPartland, clarinetist Pee Wee Russell, and tenor saxophonist Bud Freeman, with appearances by trombonist Ziggy Elmer (no relation to Ziggy Elman) and clarinetists Bob Wilber and Peanuts Hucko. Wettling was the nominal leader on most tracks but just plays his usual way and is not even on one of the sessions (where Don Lamond is the drummer). Although there are no surprises to the music (which includes such warhorses as "That's a Plenty," "Muskrat Ramble," and "I Found a New Baby"), there is plenty of joy in the ensembles and solos, with many fine spots from the key players.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 0:58 Amazon
2 4:36 Amazon
3 5:13 Amazon
4 3:13 Amazon
5 4:13 Amazon
6 4:44 Amazon
7 4:33 Amazon
8 5:08 Amazon
9 3:33 Amazon
10 4:26 Amazon
11 4:39 Amazon
12 4:38 Amazon
13 5:19 Amazon
14 3:16 Amazon
15 6:32 Amazon
16 4:27 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick