Various Artists

Down to the Promised Land: 5 Years of Bloodshot Records

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by John Duffy

As independent record labels go, five years is a lifetime. Half a decade and over 70 releases after a late-night drunken tirade against the music industry gave it life, Chicago's Bloodshot Records has proven itself to be perhaps the most important Americana-no Depression-alt-country heap.

The label has always prided itself in merging punk and country in the most unholy of matrimonies, and Down to the Promised Land proves the marriage works. Within the two-disc set's 40 tracks are excellent rock tunes from the likes of the Yahoos, the Waco Brothers (doing the Who's "Baba O'Riley"), aggressive cowpunk from the Roughnecks, and Trailer Bride, straight-up honky tonk from the Cornell Hurd Band and Nora O'Connor, and speedgrass from folks like the Meat Purveyors and Split Lip Rayfield. But the biggest moment? Without a doubt the Unholy Trio's low-fi cover of Public Enemy's "Bring the Noise," complete with strains of "Dixie" thrown in for good measure.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Robbie Fulks 03:00 SpotifyAmazon
2 The Cornell Hurd Band / Cornell Hurd 02:11 SpotifyAmazon
Waco Brothers / Graham Parker 04:05 SpotifyAmazon
4 Nora O'Connor 03:57 SpotifyAmazon
The Sadies 03:10 SpotifyAmazon
6 Duane Jarvis 01:54 SpotifyAmazon
Misery Boys / The Misery Boys / Rex Hobart 03:28 SpotifyAmazon
8 The Sadies / Sally Timms / Andre Williams 06:18 SpotifyAmazon
Bare Jr. / Bare Jr 04:35 SpotifyAmazon
Giant Sand 03:39 SpotifyAmazon
11 Ryan Adams 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
12 Trailer Bride 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
13 Mike Ireland 04:44 SpotifyAmazon
14 The Pine Valley Cosmonauts / Kelly Hogan / Jon Langford 03:11 SpotifyAmazon
Grievous Angels 03:03 SpotifyAmazon
16 Chris Mills / Deanna Varagona 05:05 SpotifyAmazon
17 Unholy Trinity / The Unholy Trio 02:32 SpotifyAmazon
18 Jon Langford / Chip Taylor 03:22 SpotifyAmazon
19 Split Lip Rayfield 01:53 SpotifyAmazon
20 Red Star Belgrade 03:35 SpotifyAmazon
Jon Rauhouse 00:40
blue highlight denotes track pick