Original Soundtrack

Down in the Delta

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Down in the Delta Review

by Jaime Sunao Ikeda

Of the album's 16 tracks, the first eight are more of a hook for the mainstream pop and crossover R&B audience. The standout track from this first half is by far the live track from D'Angelo, "Heaven Must Be Like This." Otherwise, this portion of the soundtrack has appeal, but is at times typical of the genre and moment, lacking in substance. The depth of the soundtrack begins with a selection from Chaka Khan (track nine); "Don't Talk 2 Strangers" is also to be found on her 1998 NPG Records debut, Come 2 My House. From here on out, the music is much more listenable and impressive for its creative output than its commercial appeal.

A pleasant surprise is the track from Angelou friends and past collaborators Ashford and Simpson, whose "Uh Uh Ooh Ooh Look Out Here It Comes" is just a slice of heaven. Additionally, the seductive Tracie Spencer offering "The Rain" is lovemaking music at its best and a great reintroduction to the beloved diva. A few stumbles along the way, but overall, a very satisfying and enjoyable listening experience.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Sunday 05:03 Amazon
2 Janet Jackson 03:31 Amazon
3 D'Angelo 04:15 Amazon
4 Stevie Wonder 04:57 Amazon
5 The Leverts 04:59 Amazon
6 Bob James / Hilary James / Luther Vandross / Cassandra Wilson 05:27 Amazon
7 Shawn Stockman 03:42 Amazon
8 Antoinette / Tony Thompson 04:44 Amazon
9 Chaka Khan 03:16 Amazon
10 Jazzyfatnastees / The Roots 03:58 Amazon
11 Keb' Mo' / Meshell Ndegeocello 05:58 Amazon
12 Ashford & Simpson 05:08 Amazon
13 Sounds of Blackness 04:03 Amazon
14 Stanley Clarke 03:41 Amazon
15 Tracie Spencer 05:15 Amazon
16 Sweet Honey in the Rock 05:04 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick