Herb Ellis


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This 1996 CD features a previously unreleased session by guitarist Herb Ellis during the period when he was recording for Justice. Ellis is teamed with pianist Stefan Karlsson, bassist David Craig, drummer Sebastian Whittaker and (on some cuts) trumpeter Rebecca Coupe Franks. The music is fairly conventional straight-ahead jazz, most notable for consisting of ten Ellis originals, several of which are blues-oriented. Most memorable among the new melodies are "Sunrise" and "Sunflower." Ellis plays well, although few surprises occur.

blue highlight denotes track pick