Waylon Jennings

Double Play: Waylon Jennings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is a well-priced audio and video collection that for Waylon Jennings fans is well worth it for the video disc alone. Sony's Playlist series is a 21st century approach to the best-of compilation. The packaging is "eco-friendly" and the sets offer both CD-quality music and downloadable MP3 files. In addition, instead of liner notes and photos in a printed booklet, they are provided as extra material on the CD itself. Budget-priced, they attempt to provide a well-rounded view of each artist in studio and live settings of well-known songs and albums. Waylon Jennings' volume contains many of his most beloved songs, yet a few of its choices are somewhat curious in that it doesn't contain more music from the '60s, when the original Nashville rebel was establishing his reputation as the outlaw superstar he became in the mid-'70s (see our review of the album for more detailed notes). The video portion of the package is fantastic. It contains great performances from television: Johnny Cash Show ("Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line"), four songs played on Don Kirshner's Rock Concert (including "Honky Tonk Heroes"), five selections from Cowboy Jack Clement's TV show, a handful of filmed live performances of hits, the video of "The Conversation" with Hank Williams, Jr., two of his own videos, and a pair of appearances in vintage TV commercials for Greatest Hits and Wanted! The Outlaws. The latter disc in this set is exactly the kind of document fans want and deserve.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:47
2 2:53
3 3:20
4 2:30
5 3:23
6 2:56
7 3:57
8 2:44
9 2:12
10 2:58
11 3:20
12 3:01
13 2:39
14 3:07
15 3:41
16 3:50
17 4:00
18 3:25
blue highlight denotes track pick