Various Artists

Dot Rock 'N' Roll

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Dot Rock 'N' Roll Review

by Richie Unterberger

The Dot label recorded all kinds of pop in the 1950s; this 28-track compilation focuses on their hardest rocking sides, most of which are rockabilly or rockabilly-related. Dot didn't really have a "house" sound, and what you get here is a trail mix of obscure '50s, mostly White rock & roll, with only a couple of big hits (Sanford Clark's "The Fool" and Nervous Norvus' insane novelty, "Transfusion"). A number of these rarities will have considerable appeal to collectors, like the non-hits by one-hit wonders Robin Luke and Ray Sharpe; the raunchy White Little Richard sounds of Jimmie Dee's "Henrietta" (which was a small hit); a single by Ray Campi (who really didn't become well-known until he became a rockabilly revival artist decades later); a solo outing by ex-Cricket Niki Sullivan; a 1958 Jerry Lee Lewis-clone number by future country star Mickey Gilley; and a rockabilly cut by Mac Wiseman of the Foggy Mountain Boys. It's solid fodder for the most part, though rather middle-of-the-pack as far as vintage rockabilly goes.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Sanford Clark 02:47 Amazon
2 Leroy Van Dyke 01:54 Amazon
3 Mac Wiseman 01:46 Amazon
Jimmy Dee / Jimmy Dee & The Off-Beats 02:13 Amazon
5 Nervous Norvus 02:27 Amazon
6 Ray Campi 02:19 Amazon
7 Bob Denton 01:59 Amazon
8 Dick Lory 02:05 Amazon
9 Jimmy Ringo 02:42 Amazon
10 Danny Wolfe 02:10 Amazon
11 Gene Brown 02:28 Amazon
Keith Courvale 02:04 Amazon
13 Kay Cee Jones 02:22 Amazon
14 Robin Luke 01:57 Amazon
15 Niki Sullivan 01:45 Amazon
16 Ray Sharpe 02:08 Amazon
Danny Wolfe 01:52 Amazon
Snooky Lanson 02:01 Amazon
Tommy Danton 02:06 Amazon
Joyce Paul 01:52 Amazon
21 Bob Denton 01:35 Amazon
Mickey Gilley 02:09 Amazon
23 Ray Sharpe 01:54 Amazon
24 Jimmy C. Newman 02:13 Amazon
The Five Bops 02:25 Amazon
26 Sanford Clark 02:02 Amazon
27 Billy Adams 02:47 Amazon
Jimmy Dee / Jimmy Dee & The Off-Beats 02:41 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick