Various Artists

Doo Wop Acappella Starlight Sessions, Vol. 20

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Collectables continues their monumental series of terrific a cappella doo wop compilations with this set featuring tracks by the Jesters, the Ovations, the Four Sevilles, and more, all originally recorded by the Starlight label. Consisting of 20 tracks, the music here, while not tremendously rare, has been all but forgotten by anyone but doo wop collectors and hardcore fans. Check the rendition of Ben E. King’s classic “Stand by Me” by B.Q.E. or the Ovations’ “She’s My Angel," and as fine as these cuts are, they aren’t the finest moments here: those belong to the Four Sevilles with “In Between Tears” and New Emage's cover of Barrett Strong and Norman Whitfield's "It's Summer." The volumes just keep pouring out from Collectables, and thus far, every one is a gem.

blue highlight denotes track pick