Jim Staley

Don Giovanni

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The allusion to Mozart may be a bit stretched, but this is another superb effort by Staley, who again shows his ability to create a connected set of improvisatory gems. The groups range from trio to quintet, with wildly outrageous helpings of contorted notes the norm. Tenko's vocals add a Fluxus effect, while Zeena Parkins chimes in with pointillistic harps. Staley takes the lead throughout, and his trombone playing has never been better. Unlike some others on the instrument, he sticks to the middle and lower registers of his horn, where his magnetically rough blotches of sound steal the show. The changing timbres, instruments, and colors help all 19 tracks to hit the mark, and the recording demands to be listened to over and over to mine its many rewards. Davey Williams' electric guitar and Ikue Mori's electrifying (and electric) drums are an added bonus.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 01:48 SpotifyAmazon
2 07:10 SpotifyAmazon
3 03:12 SpotifyAmazon
4 03:10 SpotifyAmazon
5 02:22 SpotifyAmazon
6 02:15 SpotifyAmazon
7 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
8 02:21 SpotifyAmazon
9 05:03
10 03:36 SpotifyAmazon
11 01:50 SpotifyAmazon
12 00:27 SpotifyAmazon
13 05:15 SpotifyAmazon
14 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
15 02:14 SpotifyAmazon
16 04:26 SpotifyAmazon
17 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
18 03:53 SpotifyAmazon
19 02:04 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick