Captain Beefheart / Captain Beefheart & the Magic Band

Doc at the Radar Station

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Generally acclaimed as the strongest album of his comeback, and by some as his best since Trout Mask Replica, Doc at the Radar Station had a tough, lean sound owing partly to the virtuosic new version of the Magic Band (featuring future Pixies sideman Eric Drew Feldman, New York downtown-scene guitarist Gary Lucas, and a returning John "Drumbo" French, among others) and partly to the clear, stripped-down production, which augmented the Captain's basic dual-guitar interplay and jumpy rhythms with extra percussion instruments and touches of Shiny Beast's synths and trombones. Many of the songs on Doc either reworked or fully developed unused material composed around the time of the creatively fertile Trout Mask sessions, which adds to the spirited performances. Even if the Captain's voice isn't quite what it once was, Doc at the Radar Station is an excellent, focused consolidation of Beefheart's past and then-present.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:26 SpotifyAmazon
3 1:38 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:39 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:57 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:43 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:51 SpotifyAmazon
8 5:01 SpotifyAmazon
9 1:31 SpotifyAmazon
10 1:00 SpotifyAmazon
11 6:33 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:10 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick