Sergey Kuryokhin

Divine Madness

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Sergey Kuryokhin was an adventurous Russian pianist who unfortunately died in his early forties in the mid-1990s. This four-disc memorial set, put out by Leo, is filled with material programmed in chronological order that was either previously unissued or quite rare, covering a six-year period. Some of the music is quite eccentric ("Opera" is a bit annoying) and features Kuryokhin as a solo pianist, in trios, a quintet and a few larger groups. Kuryohin's organ playing on a few numbers gets a bit tiresome, and some of the numbers (such as the nearly 78-minute "Subway Culture" and the odd "Introduction to Pop Mechanics") have their meandering moments. However, there are also stretches of inspiration and near-genius where the wild chance-taking really pays off. A valuable item for avant-garde collectors.