Various Artists

Disco Mania, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Packaged cheaply by Platinum Disc, each of the three volumes in the Disco Mania series features ten songs, most of which stay true to the history of disco, though inferior radio edits are often favored over the more preferable dance-oriented 12" versions. The track selections on each disc are quite random and don't offer anything to make them more enticing than any other disco sets. These should be a last resort; even Rhino's similarly patterned Disco Hits loom above in stature. The first volume includes Hot Chocolate's "You Sexy Thing," Rose Royce's "Car Wash," Brass Construction's "Movin'," Tavares' "It Only Takes a Minute," the Sylvers' "Boogie Fever," and A Taste of Honey's "Disco Dancin'."

blue highlight denotes track pick