Various Artists

Disco 54: The AVI Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is one strong compilation of '70s disco material from the vaults of AVI Records. This was the period in the music's history when independent producers could get a record out and into clubs for pennies a serving, starting a whole scene in the clubs that proliferates to this day and did much to rejuvenate the independent side of the record industry. Dance worthy highlights include Sweet Potato Pie's "Hot Disco Night (Are You Ready?)," and El Coco's "Cocomotion," "Caravan," and "Let's Get It Together," Dave Williams' Inner Circle with "Come On Down, Boogie People," and Eastbound Expressway's "Never Let Me Go." Tracks by Davis Import ("I'm Glad You're Mine"), James Wells ("True Love Is My Destiny"), Rinder & Lewis ("Lust") and Captain Sky ("Super Sporm") round out the package.

blue highlight denotes track pick