Michael Neil

Deo Gratis

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This was the Electronical Dreams label's first release, and it's a compilation of music from three tapes that Michael Neil put together between 1984 and 1987. Of the eight tracks that are from "Tender Aggression," two each are from "Dominion Over Havoc" and "Goodbye to the Greenlands". The final one is a previously unreleased track. This was a good way to introduce the new label to the world, and it benefits both parties. Michael now has a larger audience for his music, and the fledgling label has a top flight musician in its ranks. The union of the two works like a charm, and the listener is the real winner. The music spans the gap between the calm and the aggressive, and the two are mixed in good proportion. Listen to "Runners Part 4" and to "Spirits of Singing Water" - they are vastly different pieces, with the latter being upbeat and cheerful and the former dark and pensive, but both convey their intended mood with great success. The rest of the tape continues in this vein, as Michael stretches out his music without missing a beat. Available from: Clive Littlewood, Silverton Villa, Higher Bugle, St. Austell, Cornwall PL26 8PY, England.