Various Artists

Def Jam Presents: Direct Deposit, Vol. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The second installment in Def Jam's digital mixtape series arrived months after Vol. 1 was issued in December 2016. Def Jam Presents: Direct Deposit, Vol. 2 features exclusive new singles from Iggy Azalea (the ominous trapped-out "Can't Lose" with Lil Uzi Vert) and Dave East ("Paper Chasin" with A$AP Ferg), as well as tracks from returning artists like 2 Chainz ("Good Drank" with Gucci Mane and Migos' Quavo) and YG ("I Be On" with 21 Savage). Other notable inclusions are Big Sean's 2016 single "Living Single" with Chance the Rapper and Jeremih and another appearance from Lil Uzi on the Fabolous joint "Goyard Bag." While the collection leans heavily on trap rap, Vol. 2 also features pop from Bibi Bourelly; upbeat soul from Earl St. Clair; downtempo electronic by AOE; and slinky R&B by Jhené Aiko, August Alsina, and another Jeremih/Big Sean collaboration -- this time with Chris Brown -- on the highlight "I Think of You."

blue highlight denotes track pick