Various Artists

Def Jam 25, Vol. 25: Classics

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The final volume of Def Jam's digital download-only 25th anniversary compilations covers some of the labels best-known material. The label would need several additional volumes to cover all the classics, but this makes for a decent sampling. Among the essentials here are LL Cool J's "I Need a Beat," EPMD's "Gold Digger," Young Jeezy's "And Then What," Public Enemy's "Fight the Power," and Redman's "Time 4 Sum Aksion." It's pleasantly surprising to see the Roots here, though it's not as if "Don't Feel Right" doesn't belong. Many of the label's other big hits and finer deep cuts are scattered throughout the series.

blue highlight denotes track pick