Neil Young

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Decade Review

by William Ruhlmann

Given the quirkiness of Neil Young's recording career, with its frequent cancellations of releases and last-minute rearrangements of material, it is a relief to report that this two-disc compilation is so conventional and so satisfying. A 35-track selection of the best of Young's work between 1966 and 1976, it includes songs performed by Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, and the Stills-Young Band, as well as solo work. In addition to five unreleased songs, Decade offers such key tracks as the Springfield's "Mr. Soul," "Broken Arrow," and "I Am a Child"; "Sugar Mountain," a song that had appeared only as a single before; "Cinnamon Girl," "Down by the River," and "Cowgirl in the Sand" from Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere; "Southern Man" and the title track from After the Gold Rush; and "Old Man" and the chart-topping "Heart of Gold" from Harvest. This is the material that built Young's reputation between 1966 and 1972, although he is more idiosyncratic with the later material, including the blockbusters "Like a Hurricane" and "Cortez the Killer" but mixing in more unreleased recordings as the set draws to a close. He seems intent on making the album a listenable one that will appeal to a broad base of fans, and he succeeds despite the exclusion of much of the harrowing work of 1973-1975. Nevertheless, the album is an ideal sampler for new listeners, and since there is no one-disc Young compilation covering any significant portion of his career, this lengthy chronicle is the place to start.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Neil Young 02:29 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 02:16 SpotifyAmazon
3 Neil Young 02:50 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 06:14 SpotifyAmazon
5 Neil Young 03:46 SpotifyAmazon
6 Neil Young 05:41 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
8 Neil Young 03:54 SpotifyAmazon
9 Neil Young 05:59 SpotifyAmazon
10 Neil Young 02:59 SpotifyAmazon
11 Neil Young 09:17 SpotifyAmazon
12 Neil Young 10:02 SpotifyAmazon
13 Neil Young 03:28 SpotifyAmazon
14 Neil Young 03:47 SpotifyAmazon
15 Neil Young 05:32 SpotifyAmazon
16 Neil Young 03:38 SpotifyAmazon
17 Neil Young 02:56 SpotifyAmazon
18 Neil Young 02:29 SpotifyAmazon
19 Neil Young 03:25 SpotifyAmazon
20 Neil Young 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
21 Neil Young 03:11 SpotifyAmazon
22 Neil Young 03:07 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 02:43 SpotifyAmazon
24 Neil Young 02:11 SpotifyAmazon
25 Neil Young 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
26 Neil Young 04:34 SpotifyAmazon
27 Neil Young 02:41 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 03:01 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 03:08 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 03:42 SpotifyAmazon
31 Neil Young 08:17 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 02:17 SpotifyAmazon
33 Neil Young feat: Neil Young & Crazy Horse 07:32 SpotifyAmazon
Neil Young 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
35 Neil Young feat: Stephen Stills 03:53 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick