Keith Jarrett

Death and the Flower

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This set by the Keith Jarrett Quintet (with the leader on piano, soprano and flute, tenor-saxophonist Dewey Redman, bassist Charlie Haden, drummer Paul Motian and percussionist Guilherme Franco) contains three of Jarrett's originals. The main selection, the 21-minute "Death and the Flower," develops logically from atmospheric sounds to intense group improvising and back again; it is the main reason to acquire this CD.

blue highlight denotes track pick