Various Artists

Dance Nation 2003

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Dance Nation 2003 is the fourth installment in Ministry of Sound's celebrated suite and a tantalizing collection of some of the hottest dance tracks of the year. Unlike the previous albums in this series, this particular release is more eclectic and quirky, offering an abstract blend of techno, house, hip-hop, and trance. Select cuts from Nordic darlings Röyksopp, De Nuit, and Aussie chanteuse Kylie Minogue add a bit of style to disc one, while "One of My Kind" from Rogue Traders versus INXS tousles that up for something more sharp. Disc two is just as edgy with dynamic tracks by Opus III's Kirsty Hawkshaw, DJ Tiësto & Junkie XL, and Armin Van Buuren. Dance Nation 2003 doesn't focus on what's popular on a mainstream dance level; Ministry of Sound has never been concerned with that, and the brilliance behind compilations such as this one showcases what's truly inventive in the ever-changing world of electronica.

blue highlight denotes track pick